PDA

View Full Version : Tax Deduction Questions

Erich_870
05-22-2007, 11:52 PM
All you tax experts out there, lend me your ears! :P

Soon the wife and I will be home owners for the first time and along with the mortgage comes the interest tax write off :clap:

Since our tax returns are moving to a new level of complication, it got me thinking about other tax deductions.

How would I go about deducting the cost of items for work purposes?

Example: I'm an engineer and I do a lot of on site inspection during the summer. This requires that I have OSHA required safety vests, hard hats, boots, ear plugs, etc. While these costs are small, they do add up. On top of that, I play a huge roll in design changes in the field. This fact has me considering buying a laptop. I'd love to get a Panasonic Tough Book :king:

I want to know if I could see a tax benefit for such a large purchase.

Any insight?

Erich

Bob98SR5
05-23-2007, 12:02 AM
if you are not sure, hire an accountant. its worth it if you have a lot of deductions and if you are not comfortable doing it yourself. while what you are describing is not even as close to complicated as people with businesses (like me), its definitely better to have a professional look at your overall picture because often times it is more than just your equipment deductions

Erich_870
05-23-2007, 12:07 AM
if you are not sure, hire an accountant. its worth it if you have a lot of deductions and if you are not comfortable doing it yourself. while what you are describing is not even as close to complicated as people with businesses (like me), its definitely better to have a professional look at your overall picture because often times it is more than just your equipment deductions