PDA

View Full Version : '01 KX-250 start problems..

fenrisx
07-14-2007, 03:41 PM
Well I'm not looking for a detailed answer as to what my problem could be... just possible ideas on what to start checking...

It's a 2001 KX-250.. It's been chained up outside the past few weeks and not started.

The last time I started it up.. kicked started it on the 2nd kick.

Today it took like 10 kicks before it started, and immediately bogged out with me revving it.

I hear gas sloshing around so I know it has gas... although there's not a lot in it.

Any recommended starting points to check? I'm a noob.

I was going to post it on a Kawi board, but I wanted to throw some stuff in this nearly empty folder. :) Have to make it useful. :)

MTL_4runner
07-14-2007, 05:04 PM
You might check to see if the plugs are fouled.
I assume you're getting spark since it did finally kick over.

UKMyers
07-16-2007, 06:30 PM
Change the plug. If it's warm out where you are don't leave it choked for more than just a few seconds after it starts or you'll foul it again.

BruceTS
07-17-2007, 07:49 AM
not enough information to answer your problem, but I'll give it a go.
First if you live in a area where the weather conditions are wet, look for water in the fuel/carb. When was the last time the air filter was cleaned? And as mentioned check the spark plugs....

fenrisx
07-29-2007, 01:04 PM
Well here lately it's been raining a good bit, but in the beginning of the summer we had a long drought.

The air filter was cleaned very recently.. and only had about a 15 minute ride on it since it was cleaned.

I just changed the plug, and still no go. I gave up rather quickly after scraping my leg with the kick starter though.

As far as water in the fuel/carb. I don't know how to check the carb and all that. Changing the plug is about where my knowledge stops.