PDA

View Full Version : selecting sliders, and options in installing them.

Seanz0rz
07-18-2007, 10:24 AM
I figure I know a bit, but putting all of this information in one location might be very useful to newbies, and maybe it will become a wiki one day. Plus, I want opinions on what I should be looking for in sliders.

It’s time for sliders. What are your recommendations on them?

I like the look of square tube better, but I’m having a hard time finding them pre-built on line to order. Does square tube have any disadvantages to round?
Whom should I order from? Any bad experiences with a particular company?
I’m just learning to weld, should I even attempt at welding my own, and then having someone weld to the frame, or should I settle on pre-built?
What are the purposes of scab plates and gussets?
Do they make a good step?
How should they be installed to make a good step? (I.e. angle, distance from body, total distance from frame, etc.

I have settled on welding them on the frame, but I will also include more information on bolt on’s later to complete this as a wiki in the future.

thanks for the info! anything that is useful will be put into wiki form later, and then you can add more. just want a basis of slider tech.

AxleIke
07-18-2007, 11:21 AM
Get what you like.

Square will hang a little easier than round, but its really a wash.

I welded my own as a final welding class project. Wish i hadn't.

Scab plates keep the slider from dimpling or tearing the frame. Gussets keep the slider from flexing into the body.

Step is relative. Can you stand on them to get in? Sure. But usually they are only a couple inches below the door sill anyway, and end up being a hassle. Some use skateboard grip tape to keep from killing themselves while in the rain.

xonetruthcrewx
07-18-2007, 01:43 PM
http://www.stubbswelding.com/