PDA

View Full Version : Anyone deal with shift work?

Peter
07-24-2007, 03:50 AM
How do you deal with the graveyard shift and do you readjust to a day schedule on your days off?
My situation is that I work 13 hour 20 min. shifts 3 days a week. They are looooooong shifts but I have 4 days off a week. I'm wondering if I should bother with readjusting to a day schedule or if I should maintain a grave schedule during the 4 days I have off.

My schedule is similar to those that work 12s so if you have something like that please make it known.

rubysRunner
07-24-2007, 06:20 AM
I'm currently working a 4 on/4 off rotation 11.25 hr graveyard shifts. I tend to pretty much keep up the late night schedule on my days off. I've been working late evening/graveyard for 3 years straight now, and it seems natural to me now. Other people that I work with that go back to a "normal" schedule on their weekends seem to burn out a lot faster. Burning out is something you need to watch out for on the late nights. Some people can handle the switching back and forth but I'm not one of them. Losing that much sleep is not good for the brain or the body, especially if you have a stressful job.

Whether or not you should try to switch back to normal people hours is really dependent on your lifestyle. Do you have kids? married? If you have kids you probably won't have much choice in the matter.

Good luck with it. I really like working gravy (as we call it) for the most part.

PirateFins
07-24-2007, 06:59 AM
I don't yet (fingers crossed), but my wife works 2p-2a in the ER and she stays on the normal schedule on her days off, unless it is a good stretch off. If she doesn't she turns into a zombie and is very cranky to say the least.

all_terrain17
07-24-2007, 12:26 PM
I don't bother trying to readjust either. Though it does kinda suck waking up and your day is already halfway over :(

Trumpfan
07-24-2007, 01:05 PM