PDA

View Full Version : New Project

Joust
09-19-2007, 05:11 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie. don't shoot.
I have done a couple Supra MKIII projects with the 7mgte. learned a lot.
Now I think I'd like to tackle an older 4runner or a ext cab.
I would really like to put in a 1UZ. I was reading up on your conversion Cebby. wow... :bowdown:

Did you finish it? is the rest of your write up available?
i gotta admit, it is more work that I had hoped. I'm having trouble find a starting vehicle. The best i can find at this point is a 1986 4x4 pickup with a 22R.
I'd like to put an automatic on the transfer case. No idea if thats even possible.
I might go to the old 7m. alas I know it well. I've rebuilt two this summer. never done any 4x4 stuff though.
Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cebby
09-19-2007, 05:48 PM
Welcome aboard!!

My swap isn't done - not due to technical difficulty, just not enough time to devote to it currently. My engine is nearly reassembled and will be going back in for a 4th time to check clearances. I hope to update the thread soon.

You can certainly put an auto on the t-case. That's what I have - A340F automatic to dual transfer cases. The auto is the cheaper way to do a 1UZ swap currently. There are no bolt on solutions for manuals in the states yet. For a manual behind the 1UZ, you need to get a bellhousing kit with flywheel, clutch, etc from Australia - they actually pioneered this swap and have a handful of vendors who supply parts.

The 7M will also fit in the 86. There are some mods that need to happen to the core support I think since the 7M is pretty long. Check out Pirate and 4RnrRick. I'm pretty sure he put a 7M in his 1st Gen. Ultimately, no one has done that swap more than Rob (SuperRunner). His site is here (http://www.supracharged.com/).

Joust
09-20-2007, 06:48 PM
what does a 1uz and a 341 tranny and ECU and wiring harness go for down your way?
individual prices.
I found all of these things here in canada.