PDA

View Full Version : Well ain't this a bizatch: suction mounts are illegal in CA and MN while driving

Bob98SR5
04-19-2008, 10:37 PM
I was doing some research on Ram mount's website, when I read this:

NOTICE TO DRIVERS IN CALIFORNIA AND MINNESOTA: State law prohibits drivers in California and Minnesota from using suction mounts on their windshields while operating motor vehicles.

Well if that's true, i've been violating the law for about 2 yrs now. I'm not sure when this went into effect or what's the penalty, but what a dumb arse excuse for a cop to pull you over and sweat you.

So I did a little homework and found another forum memeber who did some research on it as well. here's the VC on this rule:

According to California Codes [Vehical Code 26708a], "(1) No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any object or material placed, displayed, installed, affixed, or applied upon the windshield or side or rear windows."

But if you read 27602 a1, you may actually use a windshield suction cup and pedestal kit on Global Positioning Displays or Mapping Displays. See more below...

Source: LegalTips.org
URL: http://www.legaltips.org/california/california_vehicle_code/27600-27607.aspx

"27602. (a) A person may not drive a motor vehicle if a television
receiver, a video monitor, or a television or video screen, or any
other, similar means of visually displaying a television broadcast or
video signal that produces entertainment or business applications,
is operating and is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward
of the back of the driver's seat, or is operating and visible to the
driver while driving the motor vehicle.

(b) Subdivision (a) does not apply to the following equipment when
installed in a vehicle:

(1) A vehicle information display.
(2) A global positioning display.
(3) A mapping display.
(4) A visual display used to enhance or supplement the driver's
view forward, behind, or to the sides of a motor vehicle for the