PDA

View Full Version : Noobie Q's on Grill Guard/Bull bar & other

Winky
04-26-2009, 05:34 AM
Hello,
I'm a noob to this board and to Tacomas.

I just got an 08 Taco after my POS Chevy S10 busted a crankshaft (the truck only had 54k on it :chair:) driving down the highway. Gm warantied the engine and I traided it in toward the Taco. Can you tell I'm still bitter about the Chevy? Anyways, got a MUCH better truck out of it.

Which leads to my question...
I'm looking to do a few things to the truck just to protect it. Some sort of Grill guard/bumper to protect my radiator, Demello Bolt-on rock sliders to protect the rockers, and I'm going to extend the rear diff breather (parts on order). Any other mods/protection that I am missing? The truck is an off-road edition and came with full skid plates. If I am doing any serious wheeling the future I'll get a set of Bud Built full skids which will protect better.

I have found the sliders I want (can't afford them yet but I'm saving) but I didn't really like any of the grill guards that I saw. I really liked the ARB Bull bar or the Shrockworks Bull bar but I really can't afford either of them. Also, I was told that the ARB won't accept my factory fog lights, it this true? Will the Shrockworks accept the fogs?

How much will these bumpers weight down the front end? Will they affect the ride to the point that I should get heavier duty coils to keep the factory ride/height?

Is there a reasonably priced grill guard out there to give me some radiator protection, not require taking the stock bumper off and that will not affect ground clearance? Or am I best off just waiting/saving for the ARB or Shrockworks (which will be a while)? I just hope that I don't hit anything between now and then.

Sorry about the long post. Thanks in advance for your help,
Winky

Scuba
04-26-2009, 07:11 PM
To be completely honest, we dont have many 05+ tacos on this board..
Check out TTORA.com