PDA

View Full Version : Newbie saying hi and wanting opinions

AreOhhEnn
09-13-2009, 02:18 PM
Just wanted to say hi and ask the opinion of the masses here.

I've always loved Toyotas. I'm an installer (mobile audio/video/security..etc) and Toyotas(and Lexus) by far have been my favorites to work on. I got my 1995 4Runner 3 years ago. Unfortunately, it was a 2WD. That was fine with me as the most off-road duty it would see were the dirt roads around the lakes here and on my buddy's farm when dove hunting season came around. Outside of that, it was my DD and road-trip vehicle. Being an installer, I loaded it up with a DDin Pioneer D3 nav with iPod and back-up camera and a 9" overhead DVD player. I beta test for Directed Electronics (Clifford, Viper, etc..) their alarms and remote start systems so I had one of their new 2-way LCD remote systems in and had the rear window set up to remotely roll down. No engine or suspension mods. Just a solid vehicle.... until the HG blew at 234K miles at the #1 cylinder.

So a perfect excuse to get another one. I found a same year 4Runner but in a 4WD really cheap ($1200). The tranny needed to be rebuilt but I have a regular mechanic whom I trade work with plus he's an all around cool guy I can trust. $1100 for a complete rebuild of the tranny and transfer case with new solenoids, etc... and a 12 month, 12K mile warranty. I plan to install the Warn hubs and I need to replace all 4 CV boots. Suspension work isn't a big deal for me since I used to that brakes and suspensions before I started installing.