PDA

View Full Version : Rear Differential Breather....ooops

AZyakima
04-16-2007, 03:01 PM
I'm a newbie so excuse me if there's already write-ups on the subject that I may have missed. I own a '99 4Runner with 141k miles. I regularly change all fluids but it appears that by not installing a $4 part and extending my breather on the rear diff I have caused the dreaded failure. My mechanic has told me to start searching for a new rear differential.... Im curious if anyone has had any luck resolving this type of issue and what the best approach would be ie rebuild or replace.

garrett
04-16-2007, 03:13 PM
What exactly is wrong with yours? Did your mechanic tell you anything other than it has 'failed'?

MTL_4runner
04-16-2007, 03:22 PM
Has your rear dif failed completely already?
Any pics of what happened?

If water got in and made the oil into a milkshake, then yes, all sorts of bad things might have happened.

AZyakima
04-16-2007, 03:35 PM
So far no news other than what I expected to hear...Rear end failure of some sort. Being a 3rd member they'll have to take the axels out yada yada yada and its still up on the rack waiting on my approval to have them tear into it. I won't know exactly what's failed until they get into it.

Sorry, no pics. It hasn't completely failed either. Im wondering if I put some 80wt oil in there I can trade it in.. No, cant go without my runner. Its been too good to me to find closure in such a demoralizing way.

Anyone in AZ have an idea of where I might find a used one? Or would a rebuild be more beneficial?

Thanks

marko3xl3
04-16-2007, 04:13 PM
Depending on what might've gone wrong, you might just be able to get away with buying a new gear (or two). Truth is, if it was still working, and the only diagnosis is milky oil, you still have a chance of getting away easy.

How'd you know something is wrong in the first place? Did it start makin' weird noises?

AZyakima
04-16-2007, 04:20 PM