PDA

View Full Version : Another FNG from NC

One80Auto
05-02-2010, 07:02 PM
Just doing the newbie thing. Just picked up a 1996 SR5 3.4L/R150F with 190,000 on it. All the major maintenance was up there (water pump, timing belts, head gaskets, etc.) and it has the factory locker which was a big draw for me. I have already addressed alot of 4Runner issues based off the helpful information on this site (ie. clutch bushing), I look forward to learning more. A little wheelin' experience with a TJ a few years back but other than that I am new to Toyotas. But I love "tinkering" so I already hit the pick'n'pull and came home with a York and Mark VII fan. I'll continue to mooch information off of you guys that actually know what your are doing and hopefully contribute something at some point. All I know is after two-weeks of owning it I am extremely happy with it and finally have my long-term wheeling project. Any forum I have ever been associated loves pics so here is a stock 4Runner and then with the running boards yanked. First fix will be the tires. Based on the very in depth maintenace records it has had 245's on it for almost 100,000 miles....eeeesh! So my odometer is probably about 3500-3600 early. Records even mention that "the customer was informed of the incorrectly small tires".

DHC6twinotter
05-02-2010, 07:07 PM
Welcome! Good to see another NC member on here! Nice 4Runner too! :thumbup:

kregg
05-02-2010, 07:41 PM
...you guys that actually know what your are doing...

Don't let anyoone fool you. We don't have a clue! Haha! Welcome to UY and nice find with the E-Locker and manual!

Crinale
05-02-2010, 08:23 PM
very nice find... also, the incorrectly small tires were probably easier on all the suspension and braking bits than bigger would have been, so you probably have less wear and tear than the mileage would suggest as well...

welcome to UY, and we'll look forward to your contributions :-D

One80Auto
05-03-2010, 07:49 AM