PDA

View Full Version : Handheld GPS Recommendations

traben27
12-11-2010, 10:06 AM
So, I recently received a nice little Christmas bonus from work and decided to take the plunge on buying a handheld GPS. I've been researching for hours because I have no background in this, but haven't been able to come to any conclusions. The guide in this forum helped a lot, but I'm still stuck on what to do.

The main purposes of the GPS would be for:
1. Hiking/Backpacking
2. Use on the trail
3. Possible use in deep canyons (so that hints towards good reception, although it's inevitable to lose it in places)

I've been looking at the Garmin 60CSx as well as the Delorme PN60, but I don't know if either of those would fit my needs.

Any recommendations/advice?

mastacox
12-11-2010, 11:48 AM
I have a Garmin Oregon 300 and love it (nowadays you can get the 450T for the same price, or even cheaper: http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Oregon-450-Handheld-Navigator/dp/B00313JX4W/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292096954&sr=1-1) The 300 has all of the features of the 450t, but without the built-in topo maps. The Oregon is waterproof, ruggedized, has a good amount of built-in memory, digital compass and barometer, and can be expanded with a MicroSD card.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41EzEU5O0xL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

You don't need to get a GPS with built-in Topo maps, it's easy to find free topo maps for Garmin GPS units of any state in the US on www.GPSFileDepot.com (http://www.GPSFileDepot.com), I have 20 ft contour maps of Arizona, New Mexico, and Colorado on my GPS right now, all free and excellent quality!

Seanz0rz
12-11-2010, 12:10 PM
ill be buying the PN60 Se or whatever with the spot included. the idea of sending texts with it is good for me.

troyboy162
12-11-2010, 01:42 PM
ill be buying the PN60 Se or whatever with the spot included. the idea of sending texts with it is good for me.

im about sold on that as well...all just for the text feature.

Crinale