Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Free CAD program

Free CAD program

Yeah Yeah I know what you're thinking but I'm testing this program out to see if it will work for my purposes. My desire is to have access to a 3d CAD where I can export in .DXF for personal laser/waterjet cutting of my designs for.....well anything I come up with. I have been using Sketchup and while I think it is an awesome program 600 bucks isn't an attractive price. Sketchup is the cheapest of them as well. I have a small advantage with my military status where I could get SolidWorks for $150 but I have no experience with that program and I don't know how much use I really will get out of it. Sure I could design a few parts for the 4runner but after that....who knows.

Here's a link to the review and ultimately to the site. For $0 how can I go wrong? I will post up my experience and whether or not it works but I figured it might be worth checking out for a few other people as well.

http://cad.about.com/od/Personal_CAD/fr/Freecad.htm

If you decide to play around with it please let me know what you think.
    98 3rz 4x4 5spd- Monstalined, 99 Talls, 4.30 E-locker, Extra Lights
    In Progress:
    Tundra/Rear Disc Brakes w/parking brake
    Roof Rack/Rear Ladder
    Sliders
    1st Gen Rollbar Shelf

Please let us know your experiences with it. I use Sketchup Pro daily but would love to have something a little more usable for actual 3D applications.

From my experience at work, it is actually pretty easy to create 2d DXFs for a laser or the like if you have a good understanding of how the part bends (if it is a bent part). If it is a flat part with no bends, then that DXF is no big deal.