Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: screwed! up the oil pan

screwed! up the oil pan

ok, im a noob when it comes to the toyota pickup world...this community looks like it will be able to help bigtime.

the car is an 88pickup EFI RWD i got for free from my grampa it has 81k on the original 22re but is still sturdy

heres the problem, i changed the oil about a week ago and noticed a leak, i tightened the drain plug and noticed the seal from around it all broken up, it was old and i forgot to change it...so when my dad and i went out to buy one and changed it but it still leaked, i got new and different seals every time i changed it. i went through this process about 4x, i never actually used the official OEM seal so i dont know if thats my problem...but it still leaks

my father wanted to be a hero so he went off and used a self tapping bolt on the pan  , thinking the original threading was stripped...so now i have an oil pan with a non OEM bolt or seal...and it leaks, i REALLY dont want to have to replace the pan and fork up more money than the car is worth for swapping it, if ANYONE can think of a way to deal with this i would be very grateful       pre-thanking anyone that helps out

Re: screwed! up the oil pan

Did the thread of the self tapping bolt match the old thread style?

If not, and you re-tapped the tapped threads, then your only correct option is to start over with a new oil pan. Otherwise you are just going to fight and fight with it, and just make a mess of the whole thing.
    Need that hard to find part? Nix99 Used Toyota and Lexus parts!

yes...my father did re-tap the threading with a different size...now your saying its all gone from here on out? theres no good that can come from this? little explaining why? i dont want to face the fact that i might have to change that oil pan, although i did see one on ebay for $40 and a 30 day warrenty. theres nothing i can do to stop this leak? i mean its coming right from that stupid plug...thanks anyways