Thread: First Fab Design

First Fab Design

I am looking to learn how to fabricate.

Lucky for me i have access to autocad 2007.

I am designing a rear bumper / tire carrier for my 1st gen runner.

I have little to no welding experience so I am going to be trying to keep it simple stupid.

I am planning on doing a mock set up with wooden 2x4s to check for clearances and what not so I do not run into trouble while trying to fabricate.

Ok so here goes nothing! Bare with me, I am under 24 hours into designing this!

Materials Planned:
    ~12' of 4x2x.120 Box Steel @ $4.34 / ft --> $52.04
    ~15' of 2x2x.120 Box Steel @ $2.90 / ft --> $43.50
    ~2' of 3x.25 Flat Bar @ $2.42 / ft --> $4.84
    ~Misc. angle iron

I plan on using the 4x2 for the bumper itself, the 2x2 for the swing arm assembly and the flat bar for the brackets that will support the swing arm. As for the pivot i was planning on getting tubed steel and welding it to the swing bar, then throw a good sized bolt thru with a generous amount of grease.

I am going for structural integrity and functioinality over aesthetics here.

After a few designs thrown out the window this is what i am left with.

3-D anyone?

(i see that my orthorgraphic and 3-D drawings are back asswards. Realized this after i had finished the 3d model and am FAR to lazy to change it.)

A few questions...

Is my pivot idea any good or should i do more research into prebuilt spindles?

Should i be looking into imbedding the flat bar brackets into the bumper itself as well as boxing it where ever i can?

Do the prices on the steel seem reasonable?

Any comments, concerns, complaints and or suggestions are more than welcome and very much appreciated.

Everything is subject to change!

Thank you for looking!

-Matt<br /><br />1988 4Runner, 22re, 5spd<br />1994 Mustang Cnvt, 302, 5spd

Re: First Fab Design