Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: selecting sliders, and options in installing them.

selecting sliders, and options in installing them.

I figure I know a bit, but putting all of this information in one location might be very useful to newbies, and maybe it will become a wiki one day. Plus, I want opinions on what I should be looking for in sliders.

It’s time for sliders. What are your recommendations on them?

I like the look of square tube better, but I’m having a hard time finding them pre-built on line to order. Does square tube have any disadvantages to round?
    Whom should I order from? Any bad experiences with a particular company?
    I’m just learning to weld, should I even attempt at welding my own, and then having someone weld to the frame, or should I settle on pre-built?
    What are the purposes of scab plates and gussets?
    Do they make a good step?
    How should they be installed to make a good step? (I.e. angle, distance from body, total distance from frame, etc.

I have settled on welding them on the frame, but I will also include more information on bolt on’s later to complete this as a wiki in the future.

thanks for the info! anything that is useful will be put into wiki form later, and then you can add more. just want a basis of slider tech.
    2005 Lexus LX470 - Stock for now...

1998 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6 4x4 + a bunch of goodies. Lifted, Locked, Illuminated and Armored. Winner,"Best Offroad Truck" - 2010 Pismo Jamboree. It's been upside down and still drives me to work.

Re: selecting sliders, and options in installing them.

Get what you like.

Square will hang a little easier than round, but its really a wash.

I welded my own as a final welding class project. Wish i hadn't.

Scab plates keep the slider from dimpling or tearing the frame. Gussets keep the slider from flexing into the body.