Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dog booties

Dog booties

I'm looking forward to taking my dogs up to the snow for the first time this winter. But I have zero experience as far as what they need for their feet. For all those that live in the colder climates, do you guys put booties on your dogs when you take them out for a long time in the snow? I have two labs. Thanks for any help.

Re: Dog booties

It's probably not the snow itself that will dictate if you want to use booties, but the actual outside temp. IIRC, one way dogs shed body heat is through their foot pads. As long as you can get booties big enough that their nails won't be catching on the inside, I'd say better safe that sorry . . .
    Keith '88 4runner SR5 Garage Thread

Hey David,

We use this on our goldie:

Source: Ruff Wear

But it's more just for regular trails though and not necessarily snow. Haven't had the opportunity to take any of our dogs up to see snow so I can't say for sure.

One thing to note: if your dogs have never worn something like this it'll be an "interesting" experience worth filming. I was laughing my tail off watching now the goldie walked for a good 2-3 minutes
    Lance
    TLCA Member

2003 4Runner SR5 4x4 Chaos Edition
    2000 Toyota Landcruiser
    19xx M416 Trailer

Chaos Edition Profile
    Operation Rebuilding Chaos Edition
    01001001001001110110110100100000011000010010000001 11011101100101011000100111011101101000011001010110 010101101100011001010111001000100001

How cold are we talking? If they do a lot of hiking normal, than they will be fine as is. Spray some cooking spray on there paws if anything.

Quote Originally Posted by Good Times
    Hey David,

We use this on our goldie:

Source: Ruff Wear

But it's more just for regular trails though and not necessarily snow. Haven't had the opportunity to take any of our dogs up to see snow so I can't say for sure.