Thread: Welding Questions, Answers, and tips

Welding Questions, Answers, and tips

I thought since lots of folks need to weld once in a while but don't weld for a living, a thread to post up welding questions would be worth while. Since welding questions often are really more fabrication questions and a good welder knows a lot more than just how to make a pretty bead, I'll try and keep this first post updated with the info condensed. If you have a specific or general welding question or maybe a problem about your project post up here and when the answer comes I'll update that into this first post. As much as possible I'll try and keep this to things that commonly occur with 4x4 fabrication. I'll leave that esoteric stuff up to the pros. Please feel free to correct me as I am not a professional welder.

General:
    - Link to an article on Welding Distortion
    - When you weld upside down remember you will likely get deeper penetration so watch out for burn through.
    - Skip Weld(Stitch Weld) and back-step help reduce distortion.

- T-Joints (other types do too) need to be stitched or warping will occur as the bead cools and the metal shrinks. Do not do one long continuous bead. Use multiple tacks to help hold pieces in place.

- Stitch weld. This helps prevent warping. It may look like you weld as if you are leaving bread crumbs but you actually put one weld down, go to a different part of the material away from your most recent weld, and continue to weld so that you are not building up heat in one area.

Hammering out your stitch welds with a ball peen hammer can help reduce distortion as well. An air hammer is a lot easier but whatever works to slightly deform the weld bead and allow it to relieve the stress.

MIG: Those new people that are looking into buying a machine, for best all around use, buy a Mig. Mig by far is the easiest to see good result. - 4runnerchevy -