Thread: Recommend me a GPS

Recommend me a GPS

Recently I've really been thinking about buying a GPS. I have little firsthand experience with them and I'm not really sure what features to look for and which features really make a difference.

I was browsing www.gpsnow.com which Robinhood posted in another thread here, but that is Garmin only. Is Garmin generally the best brand?

I'm looking for a handheld unit. The 2 bestselling handhelds on gpsnow are the Vista Cx and the 60CSx. The main differences between the two that I can see (other than $100+) are screen size, 'standard reciever' vs. SiRF reciever, battery life, and connections. The Vista has USB only... though that doesn't really matter to me... What's the need for a serial port anymore? Is this a different serial port than the oldschool ones?

So I guess my main question is about the 'standard reciever' and SiRF? Is the SiRF worth an extra $110?

Any other brand suggestions/websites to look at?

Thanks!

Re: Recommend me a GPS

If I had to do it all over again (gps technology wise), I'd look into either the Garmin 276c or the Lowrance Baja 540c.

Screen size makes a BIG difference when you're using it a lot. I know it's not quite a handheld unit but I think the 276c may be close to a "handheld". Anyway I've seen the 60 series and those look pretty solid so I'd say that'd be a good backup option.
    Lance
    TLCA Member

2003 4Runner SR5 4x4 Chaos Edition
    2000 Toyota Landcruiser
    19xx M416 Trailer

Chaos Edition Profile
    Operation Rebuilding Chaos Edition
    01001001001001110110110100100000011000010010000001 11011101100101011000100111011101101000011001010110 010101101100011001010111001000100001

I'll tell you straight up, I am not knowledgable on portable GPS units as the only ones I have researched are in-car units.

BUT, recently I sourced a PDA GPS for free (yea boi! ) and I love it. The thing is, I am not sure if it's the "first GPS in my life" love or "it's really that good" love.