Thread: frame welding help

frame welding help

Alright, i am no pro welder, but i do have skill enough to make it strong, i cracked my frame last run out and came to notice that the whole inside of my frame rail is gone...

So, tonight if i can get into the building i am going to take the box off, drop the gas tank, and cut away anything that is bad. i know a lot of you have fixed frames so i need some tips.

- i have been told no virtical welds, some people say this will make a weak spot in the frame?

- any tips on welding upside down, i can lay a nice beed flat, but as soon as i fight gravity i loose

I am using a stick welder

Any tips would make me happy.
    3" body lift, 33x12.5 wild countries on 10" rims, pioneer speakers, sony deck/amp/12"sub. 3.5" pipe bumpers, heavy foot.

Re: frame welding help

Are you planning on just welding the cracks? I would use patches. Go out and get some flat stock, cut to fit the frame rail and weld in. I would make these pieces maybe a foot long with the crack being at the center. Is your frame boxed. How did you plan on putting it back together once you cut stuff out/off.

Quote Originally Posted by made in canada
    Alright, i am no pro welder, but i do have skill enough to make it strong, i cracked my frame last run out and came to notice that the whole inside of my frame rail is gone...

So, tonight if i can get into the building i am going to take the box off, drop the gas tank, and cut away anything that is bad. i know a lot of you have fixed frames so i need some tips.

- it have been told no virtical welds, some people say this will make a weak spot in the frame?

- any tips on welding upside down, i can lay a nice beed flat, but as soon as i fight gravity i loose

I am using a stick welder

Any tips would make me happy.
    First, whomever told you no vertical welds, is full of crap. ALL CERTIFIED WELDS ARE DONE VERTICAL UP.

Overhead is as almost as easy as flat. Just wear more protection from debris.