Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: school me on riding mowers

school me on riding mowers

So, need to get something bigger than my little honda push mower for my 2 acres, and I'm really not sure what I should look for/avoid. I'm looking at the lower end ones, 42" cut, 17 - 20hp in the 1000 to 1200 range.

seems like everything has either a kohler or briggs & stratton engine - should I prefer one?
    manual or hydrostatic transmission? manual seems cheaper up front & maybe cheaper to repair?
    is their much difference between the brands? looking at MTD, craftsman, ariens, troy bilt
    used ones on craigslist have me a little worried, seems like anything over 3 or 4yrs old needs something repaired so I'm leaning towards new, thoughts?
    does it make me a redneck if my mower cost more than any other vehicle i own
    Brian

Re: school me on riding mowers

I worked as a mechanic for a golf course, for a couple of years. I worked with alot of Kohler motors and B&S. I personally prefer the Kohler, they are easy to work on and are still made in america. The B&S is not made in america anymore. As far as drives, I prefer a hydrostat, but if your not familiar with them then they can be hard to troubleshoot. Since your getting a rotary then invest in a blade balancer (like 15 bucks), so when you sharpen your blades, keep them balanced. A sharp blade=healthy grass.

I get some goats.

My FIL goes through a riding mower every 3 years or so. He thinks it's fine but I thought that, especially for the price, that they should last longer. He has yard and grass. As in nice green sod type and grass that is irrigated but is mostly weeds. This grass is spotted with areas of light gravel and always sticks and such. He's had problems with drive mechanisms and belts. When one goes bad he usually heads down to Sears and gets another.