Thread: Homemade kydex mag pouches

Homemade kydex mag pouches

As some of you might know, I've been getting into shooting competitions lately and I needed some pouches for a glock that I'm borrowing. Being the cheap bastard that I am, I decided to make some. Keep in mind, I am very new to both kydex and organized shooting matches so I don't know if this is the best design or if something could be improved.

I started out by cutting the kydex with a hacksaw and a razor blade. The razor blade is used to score the surface and breaking it apart. A belt sander cleaned up the edges nicely.

In my first attempt, I just formed everything by hand, which worked ok, but a jig is much better for making nice crisp lines.

After cutting out the piece, the first step was to form the main body. The whole piece was thrown in the toaster oven and heated up.

Step two was to form the belt clip with a heat gun. This step was easily done without an exterior jig; just an interior wedge was need to form the loop.

Step three was to form the bottom mag stop, again with a heat gun.

The final step was to form the small hook in the belt loop. It's a little hard to see what's going on in the picture but I used a thin piece of cardboard to insulate the rest of the mag pouch from the heat gun.

And here's the finished product:

Here you can see the walls are at slight angles to help with mag retention.