Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking at a used car---probable cause / figure out the problems

Looking at a used car---probable cause / figure out the problems

Hi all,

Looking at this 2000 Rav4 for a friend (see jpg).

So good stuff:

- paint is good except 1 area where there's a dent and the paint flaked off (key point to my question)
    - interior is smoke free. seats are still in good shape. sorta dirty headliner but liveable
    - engine runs and pulls well...for a 2000 Rav4, that is

Bad stuff:
    - high speed steering wobble (above 55 mph)
    - high speed self-lane changing machine. at 65 mph, if i let go of the wheel, the car is in the next lane. perfectly fine in a neighborhood like GG (haha, if you're from the area you know what I mean---and I'm an Asian driver saying this!), but yeah, it pulls severely to the right
    - some scratches on the bumpers but liveable
    - the left front fender's panel was replaced. You can tell its a little off color than the rest of the vehicle.

So some things he admitted but didn't volunteer until I started driving it:

- He said that he did go to an alignment shop recently (I saw the report) and the car was out of alignment. Now everything is to spec (in green zone). He said that the alignment tech said that the front pass wheel is bent. I noted that there were NO weights on that wheel.
    - Also noted that the front tires are different than the 2 rear ones. My guess is that this seller probably went through tires like crazy, but that's busy an assumption at this point
    - When checking why he didn't try the rear spare, he said that that was bent too. Grrr. I did ask him if there was anything else. He didn't bring this one up.

Hence all you people: test drive and axe alot of questions.