Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 5 worst US cities to drive in (2008)...

5 worst US cities to drive in (2008)...

Ever get so pissed stuck in traffic that you literally wanted to kill everyone in front of your with a flick of a trigger button that blasted an opening so you can drive through like in the movie Evan Almighty? Welp here's an article I found on Green Daily which pretty much said it all.

Quote Originally Posted by Josh Loposer @ Green Daily
    As far as I'm concerned, every minute spent sitting in traffic is not only time wasted, but the stress and pollution it creates takes a minute off the end of your life -- maybe two. Look, I'm not a doctor and this formula is totally not scientific -- but it seems pretty believable. So, if you find yourself spending time in one of the top 5 best/worst cities for wasting your life in traffic, you might want to get your hands on a bike. It may add minutes to your life.

Think you're city made the grade?
    Source: GreenDaily.com

[img width=400]http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.greendaily.com/media/2008/04/dallas.jpg[/img]
    5. Dallas

Suburban sprawl and the SUV mentality have conspired to make Dallas a wonderful place to read a book while sitting in your car. Dallas is the fastest growing city in the country, and although they've thrown $900M at a light rail, growth is clearly out-pacing any traffic solutions. Average commuter's time lost to traffic - 58hrs a year
    [img width=400]http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.greendaily.com/media/2008/04/dc.jpg[/img]
    4. Washington DC

It's ironic that the city that houses the federal government can't even succeed at modest city planning -- or maybe it's metaphoric. The suburban sprawl of the District of Columbia, mixed with the confusing landscape of the Beltway makes the nation's capital a traffic nightmare. Average commuter's time lost to traffic - 60hrs a year
    [img width=400]http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.greendaily.com/media/2008/04/sf.jpg[/img]