Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4Runner Questions!

4Runner Questions!

Ok. I have a 1992 4RNR, comptetely stock with 113,800 miles. I'm pretty new to this coming from driving a integra. So... anyways Im planning on lifting my truck 3". should I do a body or suspension lift? I also want to fit 33x12.50s underneath. is 3" enough without rubbing? i dont wanna go higher than 4" as far as a lift Nor do i wanna beat the crap outta my fenders and wheel wells. Help me out here thanks.
    1992 Toyota 4runner SR5 4x4 3.0 V6 5 Speed - It's Modified.

Re: 4Runner Questions!

I would do a susupension lift. A body lift is kind of like a band aid and 3" is a little high. Folks do 1" BL's to clear the drivetrain when doing swaps but there are better options out there. You've got a '92 so I'm a little less familiar with the options for your 4runner. If you're new search around and see what people are running and their experiences.

What type of wheeling are you doing? How often? These might determine how much rubbing you might have.

Like 4x4 mike said, I would do the Suspension lift.
    A friend of mine has a 95 and i have helped him with his lift.
    What kind of wheeling do you do?

My suggestion is to go with LC coils from the rear of the Land Cruisers (years escape my memory right now) and Ball Joint spacers up front with your torsion bars cranked just a little.
    I mean you can skip the BJ spacers all together and then just crank your bars but then you would have no flex like my friend here:

Not the best pic but you can see how is rear is flexing a lot, of course it is well know that flex is no existent already for IFS, but every inch helps :-)

Oh by the by those are 33" Maxxis Big Horns on his rims :-)

Like the others said, crank the front T-bars or get Ball Joint spacers to raise it 1-1.5". For the back, I like to recommend Downey HD coils to raise it an equal amount. I think the Cruiser coils raise the rear too much and don't like the stink bug look.