Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1 day to convince me on tires..

1 day to convince me on tires..

OK.

I got my wheels and other stuff finally lined up and I want opinions here.

I love the BFG TA-KO's for everything but loose stuff..dirt or sand. I noticed a lot here are now using KM2's instead. The clincher is this..with the car wrecked the 4Runner is again my daily driver and I commute 70 miles round trip on the freeways of the S.F. Bay Area. Either way mileage will suffer a little, but how do the KM2's hold up for daily driving?

*No, I'm not going for the 12.5's yet, that would mean I have to also pop for flares as the CHP out here loves them fines.

I like keeping it relatively simple, so here goes..TA-KO's versus KM2's. Which one and why? *We'll throw on a set of 12.5's just for the sake of a look-see.

Re: 1 day to convince me on tires..

I have no experience with the KM2's but have owned 2 sets of the KO's. Each set lasted close to 50,000 miles and a lot of abuse. When I say abuse I mean peeling out with a heavy vehicle on snow, ice, rocks, dirt, sand, etc. Also sharp rocks and other trail obstacles. The sidewalls took a lot of damage and the tires survived. After about 35,000 miles both sets got a little louder than new but no too loud but this was on a pick up and I think my 4Runner is quieter all around. In the time owning them I never wish I had another tire. People grip about their performance in the mud but they aren't a mud tire and when I got suck in the mud I'm sure I'd still be stuck if I had a mud tire. The tires were mostly used for daily driving and I liked them. I hit stuff on the road and I think only once a nail sent me to the shop. I never had a problem with rain either, I guess people say they are a crappy rain tire. I ran 285/75/16's if it makes any difference.